People’s Pyrex

Exhibition dates: 21 June – 27 July

This is an exhibition that celebrates our very close relationship to Pyrex glass. Between 1922 and 2007 all of the Pyrex sold across the British Commonwealth (with the exception of Canada) was made in Sunderland. As well as making it we also used it and the shapes and patterns are woven into many family memories.

The exhibition will feature the work of the artist Erin Dickson and your Pyrex. During the run of the exhibition we will be inviting you to bring in your Pyrex, share your family memories and lend your glassware to what we hope will be a continuously growing exhibition.

We Want Your Pyrex!!!

Pyrex drop off afternoons: If you’d like to see your Pyrex pieces featured in the exhibition, join us at one of our drop off events…

Wednesday 19 June 1pm-4pm

Saturday 22 June 1pm-4pm

Wednesday 26 June 3pm-4pm

Saturday 29 June 1pm-4pm

Wednesday 3 July 1pm-4pm

Saturday 6 July 1pm-4pm

Wednesday 10 July 1pm-4pm

Saturday 13 July 1pm-4pm

Wednesday 17 July 1pm-4pm

Saturday 20 July 1pm-4pm

For more information about lending us your Pyrex for display in the exhibition please get in touch with  acw@sunderland.gov.uk or call 0191 561 3455.

Design by Posy Jowett