fbpx

Exhibitions

Our world-class exhibitions programme presents work by leading glass and ceramics artist.

Our exhibition programme focuses on the presentation of modern and contemporary work in glass and ceramics, specifically work from 1900 to date, exploring the development of contemporary practice and presenting this work within the context of recent history. Our exhibitions demonstrate excellence in glass and ceramics from around the world and closer to home, with many of our exhibitions featuring work produced within our own Glass and Ceramics Department at the University of Sunderland.

Our exhibitions are for everyone from the under-fives to university professors and they change regularly, with themes varying from familiar and entertaining to challenging and enlightening. We enjoy working with a wide range of partners including our local community, artists and other museums and galleries who all play an essential role in the development and delivery of our exhibition programme, bringing the best in glass and ceramics art to the North East.

Our programme also supports the creation of new artwork exploring the potential of glass and maintaining Sunderland’s historic reputation as a world leader in the development and production of glass.

On your visit you can also enjoy our permanent gallery, ‘Stories of glass in Sunderland‘ which explores the history of glassmaking in Sunderland.

View all of our current contemporary exhibitions below.

Filter Events

FieldJournal – Kim McDermottroe

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Sat 27-Aug-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Paul Foster – Chasing Shadows

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Sat 20-Aug-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Sandcasting: Hedgehog, Car, Fish or Owl

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Fri 26-Aug-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

University of Sunderland Art and Design Degree Show

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Wed 31-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Pyrex100: Jobling's 1930s Art Glass

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Sat 27-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

FREE Daily Glass Making Demonstrations

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Mon 31-Jul-2023
National Glass Centre

Read More

Seaside Trail

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Mon 05-Sep-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Pyrex100: Pyrex Patterns Trail

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Fri 21-Oct-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Bright Lights Remixed

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Sat 29-Oct-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Anthony Amoako-Attah: Transition IV Online Exhibition

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Mon 29-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Anthony Amoako-Attah: Transition

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Mon 29-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Glass Exchange

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Sun 11-Sep-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Discovery Zoo

Wed 10-Aug-2022 - Wed 24-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Creative You - Free arts workshops for Young People aged 11 – 19

Thu 11-Aug-2022 - Thu 01-Sep-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Sequence Dancing / Tea Dance

Thu 11-Aug-2022 - Thu 15-Dec-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Planet Pledge Family Fusing

Thu 11-Aug-2022 - Thu 25-Aug-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Coastal Animal Glass Painting

Fri 12-Aug-2022 - Fri 26-Aug-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Pyrex100: Family Pyrex Fridays: Drawing Drop In

Fri 12-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Ceramic Sandcastles and Sea Sculptures

Sat 13-Aug-2022 - Wed 31-Aug-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Marvellous Mobiles Glass Painting

Mon 15-Aug-2022 - Mon 29-Aug-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Maritime Mondays: Lighthouse Models

Mon 15-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Fantasy Fish Glass Fusing

Tue 16-Aug-2022 - Tue 30-Aug-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Design and Make Funky Sustainable ‘Street-Style' clothing

Tue 16-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

The Tortoise and the Hare - A Suitcase Story

Tue 16-Aug-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Arty Wednesdays: Taste Tribes

Wed 17-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Drink and Draw – Life Drawing Social

Thu 18-Aug-2022 - Thu 22-Sep-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Inspector Drake and the Black Widow

Thu 18-Aug-2022 - Sat 20-Aug-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Pyrex100: Family Pyrex Fridays: Pattern and Print Making

Fri 19-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Craft Fair

Sat 20-Aug-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Glass Tableware Club

Sat 20-Aug-2022 - Sat 12-Nov-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Big Science Bubble Fest

Mon 22-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Cyan Seas Family Photography Day

Tue 23-Aug-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Talk: Calligraphy and the Lindisfarne Gospels

Tue 23-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Talk: Eadfrith: the scribe of the Lindisfarne Gospels

Tue 23-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Calligraphy: writing the script of the Lindisfarne Gospels

Wed 24-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Character Design and Story Telling

Thu 25-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Pyrex100: Family Pyrex Fridays: Animal Sculptures

Fri 26-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Hot Glass Studio Sale

Sat 27-Aug-2022 - Sun 28-Aug-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Glass Tableware Taster Session

Sun 28-Aug-2022 - Sun 20-Nov-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

INSPIRE

Tue 30-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Arty Wednesdays: Pop up Winter Gardens

Wed 31-Aug-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Pyrex100: Family Pyrex Fridays: The Big Picture

Fri 02-Sep-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Regular Classes and Courses for Children

Tue 06-Sep-2022 - Sat 17-Dec-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Regular Classes and Courses for Adults

Tue 06-Sep-2022 - Sat 17-Dec-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Tuesday Museum Club: Sculpture Safari

Tue 06-Sep-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Threads

Tue 06-Sep-2022 - Tue 04-Oct-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Brandy Clark

Tue 06-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Sunderland Indie Double Exhibition: Earth Requiem II / A Tale of a Few Cities

Wed 07-Sep-2022 - Sat 15-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Community Choir – The B#s

Wed 07-Sep-2022 - Wed 19-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Nifties

Wed 07-Sep-2022 - Wed 30-Nov-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Watercolour Classes - afternoon

Wed 07-Sep-2022 - Wed 19-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Community Choir – One Voice

Wed 07-Sep-2022 - Wed 19-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Botanical Drawing in the Winter Gardens

Wed 07-Sep-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

The Shodyssey

Thu 08-Sep-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Sweet Dreams are Made of This: My Life in Music - An Evening with Dave Stewart

Fri 09-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Washington Youth Theatre (Ages 8 - 12)

Sat 10-Sep-2022 - Sat 22-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Right Track

Sat 10-Sep-2022 - Sat 17-Dec-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Heritage Open Days: Vintage Bus Tour

Sat 10-Sep-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Flameworked Marbles

Sat 10-Sep-2022 - Sat 05-Nov-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Saturday Art Club

Sat 10-Sep-2022 - Sat 22-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Washington Youth Theatre (ages 13+)

Sat 10-Sep-2022 - Sat 22-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

1 Day Introduction to Ceramics - Throwing Technique

Sun 11-Sep-2022 - Sun 06-Nov-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Make Your Own... Flameworked Beads

Sun 11-Sep-2022 - Sun 06-Nov-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Reasons You Should(n’t) Love Me

Mon 12-Sep-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Amazing Inventors: William Mills

Tue 13-Sep-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Watercolour Classes - Morning

Wed 14-Sep-2022 - Wed 19-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Amazing Inventors: Joseph Swan

Thu 15-Sep-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

These Hills Are Ours

Thu 15-Sep-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

The Story of Soul

Thu 15-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Oil Painting Classes

Fri 16-Sep-2022 - Fri 21-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Radio GAGA

Fri 16-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Flameworked Glass Pendants

Sat 17-Sep-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Autumn Craft and Makers Fair

Sat 17-Sep-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Dr John Cooper Clarke

Sat 17-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Flameworked Glass Hearts for Jewellery

Sun 18-Sep-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Chris Difford

Sun 18-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Sunderland Pianoforte Society Recital: Ashley Fripp

Tue 20-Sep-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Shakers: Under New Management

Tue 20-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Room on the Broom

Wed 21-Sep-2022 - Thu 22-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

The Duke (12a)

Wed 21-Sep-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Mini Science Club

Fri 23-Sep-2022 - Fri 21-Oct-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Sweet Caroline - The Ultimate tribute to Neil Diamond

Fri 23-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Pyrex100: Love Pyrex Day

Sat 24-Sep-2022
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Read More

Introducing... Fused Glass

Sat 24-Sep-2022 - Sun 13-Nov-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

90s Live

Sat 24-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Blackmore’s Blood

Sat 24-Sep-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Screen Printing on Glass

Sun 25-Sep-2022 - Sat 05-Nov-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Ricky Ross

Tue 27-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

A Creative introduction into Digital Photography

Wed 28-Sep-2022 - Wed 02-Nov-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Artistic Fused Glass

Wed 28-Sep-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Retake / Remake

Thu 29-Sep-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Live Wire the AC/DC Show

Fri 30-Sep-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Al Murray, The Pub Landlord - Gig for Victory

Sat 01-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Public Service Broadcasting

Mon 03-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

The Tiger Who Came to Tea

Tue 04-Oct-2022 - Wed 05-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Thu 06-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Those Magnificent Men

Thu 06-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Turin Brakes

Fri 07-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Introducing... Ceramics - NEW FORMAT

Sat 08-Oct-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

‘Transatlantic Blondie' the hits of Blondie with the Transatlantic Ensemble

Sat 08-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

An Evening with David Puttnam

Tue 11-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

The Unthanks – Sorrows Away

Wed 12-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

A Doll's House

Thu 13-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Stained Glass Leaded Technique, Beginners Level

Sun 16-Oct-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

The Phantom of the Open (12)

Wed 19-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Delicate

Thu 20-Oct-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Woman to Woman - Judie Tzuke, Beverley Craven, Julia Fordham & Rumer

Fri 21-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Kathryn Tickell & The Darkening

Sun 23-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Ladysmith Black Mambazo

Wed 26-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

The Rocket Man - A Tribute to Sir Elton John

Fri 28-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

The Pitmen Poets

Sat 29-Oct-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

John Smith & Katherine Priddy

Wed 02-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Great Expectations

Thu 03-Nov-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

80s Live

Fri 04-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Barbara Dickson with Nick Holland

Sun 06-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Milton Jones: Milton Impossible

Wed 09-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Tin Man

Fri 11-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Female Gothic

Fri 11-Nov-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Flameworked Christmas Decorations

Sat 12-Nov-2022 - Thu 15-Dec-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Northern Live

Sat 12-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Beth Nielsen Chapman

Sun 13-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Benediction (12)

Wed 16-Nov-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

The Very Hungry Caterpillar Show

Wed 16-Nov-2022 - Thu 17-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Elkie Brooks

Fri 18-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Pursuers of the Future

Sun 20-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Frazey Ford

Tue 22-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

An Evening with Cowboy Junkies

Wed 23-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Redcoat

Thu 24-Nov-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

Fleetwood Mac's Rumours with The Transatlantic Ensemble - 24/11/22

Thu 24-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Fleetwood Mac's Rumours with The Transatlantic Ensemble - 25/11/22

Fri 25-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Christmas Craft Fair

Sat 26-Nov-2022 - Sun 27-Nov-2022
National Glass Centre

Read More

Nu Civilisation Orchestra presents Joni Mitchell's Hejira and Mingus

Sun 27-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Arcadia Live: Adrian Utley (Portishead) and Will Gregory (Goldfrapp)

Wed 30-Nov-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Royal Northern Sinfonia: Christmas by Candlelight

Thu 01-Dec-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Christmas Wreath Making

Sat 03-Dec-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

100% Soul! The Festive Special

Sat 03-Dec-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

The Three Bears at Christmas

Tue 06-Dec-2022 - Sun 11-Dec-2022
Arts Centre Washington

Read More

GUN plus Special Guests

Tue 06-Dec-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

The Overtones

Fri 09-Dec-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Big Girls Don't Cry

Sun 11-Dec-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Fastlove - The Tribute to George Michael

Tue 13-Dec-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Cara Dillon - Upon A Winter's Night

Wed 14-Dec-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

An Evening of Burlesque

Thu 15-Dec-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

The Magic of Motown

Sun 18-Dec-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

A Jazzy Christmas

Mon 19-Dec-2022
The Fire Station

Read More

Hal Cruttenden: It's Best You Heard it From Me

Sat 21-Jan-2023
The Fire Station

Read More

The Sharon Shannon Trio

Sun 12-Feb-2023
The Fire Station

Read More

Royal Northern Sinfonia: Ibragimova Plays Mozart

Thu 16-Feb-2023
The Fire Station

Read More

Justin Moorhouse: Stretch and Think

Sat 18-Feb-2023
The Fire Station

Read More

Royal Northern Sinfonia: Wlosczcowska Plays Beethoven

Thu 11-May-2023
The Fire Station

Read More