Update to visitors 

As you may be aware, Northern Gallery for Contemporary Art and National Glass Centre visitor centre have recently been closed due to storm damage to the riverside front of the building.

However, we’re delighted to say that we are now open!

Things will be a little bit different for a while as we continue to address the storm damage to the riverside front of the building. But our team has worked hard to make changes so that we can offer visitors a packed programme of exhibitions, events, activities and shopping.

Please read our reopening information before your visit.

What's On

Filter Events

Root Notes

Mon 24-Jun-2024 - Mon 02-Sep-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

University of Sunderland Art and Design Degree Shows

Mon 24-Jun-2024 - Sat 06-Jul-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

FREE Daily Glass Making Demonstrations

Mon 24-Jun-2024 - Wed 31-Jul-2024
National Glass Centre

Creative You

Mon 24-Jun-2024 - Wed 17-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Bernard Lloyd Collection

Mon 24-Jun-2024 - Sun 08-Sep-2024
National Glass Centre

Laura Lancaster: My Echo, My Shadow

Mon 24-Jun-2024 - Sun 30-Jun-2024
National Glass Centre

Northern Gallery for Contemporary Art Collection Display

Mon 24-Jun-2024 - Tue 31-Dec-2024
National Glass Centre

Regular Classes and Courses for Children

Tue 25-Jun-2024 - Sat 20-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Regular Classes and Courses for Adults

Tue 25-Jun-2024 - Sat 20-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Washington: Fact, Fiction and Folklore - Call out for artists!

Tue 25-Jun-2024 - Sat 29-Jun-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Washington 60

Tue 25-Jun-2024 - Sat 31-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Tony Erskine - A Retrospective

Tue 25-Jun-2024 - Sat 06-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Felting Connections

Tue 25-Jun-2024 - Sat 29-Jun-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Shake It Up

Tue 25-Jun-2024 - Tue 16-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Creative Forum

Tue 25-Jun-2024
City Wide Programme

Community Choir – One Voice

Tue 25-Jun-2024 - Tue 16-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Watercolour Classes - Morning

Wed 26-Jun-2024 - Wed 17-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Celebrate Different Collective

Wed 26-Jun-2024 - Wed 30-Oct-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Community Choir – The B#s

Wed 26-Jun-2024 - Wed 17-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

The Ballad of the Crocodile and the Underpass - Community Podcasting Sessions

Wed 26-Jun-2024 - Wed 24-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Creative Age

Wed 26-Jun-2024 - Wed 23-Oct-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Watercolour Classes - afternoon

Wed 26-Jun-2024 - Wed 17-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Mind on the Music

Thu 27-Jun-2024 - Thu 18-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Here to There

Thu 27-Jun-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Drink and Draw – Life Drawing Social

Thu 27-Jun-2024 - Thu 15-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Oil Painting Classes

Fri 28-Jun-2024 - Fri 19-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Arts Centre Washington Writers Group

Fri 28-Jun-2024 - Fri 12-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Creative Age

Fri 28-Jun-2024 - Fri 19-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Acoustic McCartney & Sting

Fri 28-Jun-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Mini Meets mindfulness classes

Sat 29-Jun-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Right Track

Sat 29-Jun-2024 - Sat 20-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Washington Youth Theatre (Ages 8 - 12)

Sat 29-Jun-2024 - Sat 20-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Small and Mighty – Family Art and Craft Sessions

Sat 29-Jun-2024 - Sat 20-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Washington Youth Theatre (ages 13+)

Sat 29-Jun-2024 - Sat 20-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Saturday Art Club

Sat 29-Jun-2024 - Sat 20-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

People’s Art

Sat 29-Jun-2024 - Sun 01-Dec-2024
National Glass Centre

Tuesday Museum Club: July 2024

Tue 02-Jul-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Threads

Tue 02-Jul-2024 - Tue 01-Oct-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Nifties

Wed 03-Jul-2024 - Wed 31-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Kiln Formed Glass

5 week course

Thu 04-Jul-2024
National Glass Centre

Sunderland Arts & Culture Trail

Fri 05-Jul-2024 - Sat 20-Jul-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

First Friday Folk

Fri 05-Jul-2024 - Fri 02-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

ART MART - Summer Craft and Makers Fair

Sat 06-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Introducing... Fused Glass

Sat 06-Jul-2024 - Sat 10-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

1 Day Introduction to Ceramics - Throwing Technique

Sat 06-Jul-2024 - Sat 03-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

Glass Tableware Club

Sat 06-Jul-2024
National Glass Centre

Stained Glass Leaded Technique, Intermediate Level

Sun 07-Jul-2024
National Glass Centre

Washington on Film - Heritage Reels Washington 60 Special

Wed 10-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Relaxed Life Drawing in the Granary

Thu 11-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

The Davy Lamp Folk Club 50 Years Reunion

Sat 13-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Elvis on Tour + Talk with Gordon Minto

Wed 17-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Sunderland Film Club presents... The Miners' Hymns

Thu 18-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Exhibition Preview – Ian Macdonald: Fixing Time with Exhibition Tour

Fri 19-Jul-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Portrait Station!

Sat 20-Jul-2024 - Sat 24-Aug-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Ian Macdonald: Fixing Time

Sat 20-Jul-2024 - Sat 04-Jan-2025
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Changing Childhoods Trail

Sat 20-Jul-2024 - Sat 14-Sep-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Stained Glass and Copper Foil Botanicals

Sat 20-Jul-2024 - Sat 31-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

Chainmaille Bracelet Making

Sun 21-Jul-2024 - Sun 18-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

History Mondays

Mon 22-Jul-2024 - Mon 19-Aug-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Glass fused birds or fish

Mon 22-Jul-2024 - Mon 02-Sep-2024
National Glass Centre

Glass Painted Postcard

Wed 24-Jul-2024 - Wed 21-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

‘Wonderful Wings and Stupendous Stings’ Bees and Butterflies Garden trail and crafts!

Wed 24-Jul-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

The Sword and the Stone + Make Your Own Cardboard Sword and Wand!

Wed 24-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Sunderland Film Club presents... Ratcatcher

Wed 24-Jul-2024
City Wide Programme

Wonderful welly-boot planters!

Thu 25-Jul-2024
National Glass Centre

'Stained-glass' Dragonfly

Fri 26-Jul-2024 - Sat 24-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

Big Science Parties

Fri 26-Jul-2024 - Fri 16-Aug-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

1 Day Introduction to Ceramics - Handbuilding Technique

Sat 27-Jul-2024 - Sat 31-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

Flameworked Marbles

Sat 27-Jul-2024
National Glass Centre

Embroidered Winter Gardens with Louise Goult

Sat 27-Jul-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Glass and Chain Connections

Sun 28-Jul-2024
National Glass Centre

Glass Tableware Taster Session

Sun 28-Jul-2024
National Glass Centre

Tie Dyeing T-Shirts (Ages 10-13)

Tue 30-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Tie Dyeing T-Shirts (Ages 14-18)

Tue 30-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Tie Dyeing for Adults

Tue 30-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

‘Bug-‘tastic’ facts and crafts!

Wed 31-Jul-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Beatlemania! with Sharon Vincent

Wed 31-Jul-2024
Arts Centre Washington

The Ballad of the Crocodile and the Underpass – Summer Songwriting Sessions

Thu 01-Aug-2024 - Fri 02-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Rock’n’Roll Tote Bag Printing

Thu 01-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Mr Drayton's Record Player - The Rise and Fall of Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars

Thu 01-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Glass painted pets!

Fri 02-Aug-2024 - Fri 30-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

Arty Fridays

Fri 02-Aug-2024 - Fri 23-Aug-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

2 Day Flameworking Skills and Sculptural Form

Sat 03-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

Sunderland Teenage Art Market

Sat 03-Aug-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Classic Album Collaging

Tue 06-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Acrylic Painting and Collage

Wed 07-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Bear’s Museum Adventure: Daring to Dinosaur

Wed 07-Aug-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Rock'n'Coal Family Choir

Thu 08-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Mr Drayton's Record Player - Rumors

Thu 08-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Create a ceramic coaster

Wed 14-Aug-2024 - Thu 22-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

Bug hunting in the Community Garden!

Wed 14-Aug-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Mr Drayton's Record Player - Transformer Vs. Is This It

Thu 15-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Photography Walk – Our Industrial Heritage

Sat 17-Aug-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Grow Your Own Pizza

Wed 21-Aug-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Hot Glass Studio Sale

Sat 24-Aug-2024 - Mon 26-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

'Stained-glass' butterfly wings

Wed 28-Aug-2024
National Glass Centre

Sunderland Film Club presents... Morvern Callar

Wed 28-Aug-2024
City Wide Programme

Mr Drayton's Record Player - Made in Washington

Thu 29-Aug-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Tuesday Museum Club: September 2024

Tue 03-Sep-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Heritage Open Days: Vintage Bus Tour

Sat 07-Sep-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Songs from this City

Sat 14-Sep-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Peoplescapes - An exhibition by David Baillie

Thu 19-Sep-2024 - Sat 26-Oct-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Mini Science Club

Fri 20-Sep-2024 - Fri 18-Oct-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Eco Trail

Sat 21-Sep-2024 - Sat 12-Oct-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Sunderland Film Club presents... We Need to Talk About Kevin

Wed 25-Sep-2024
City Wide Programme

Tuesday Museum Club: October 2024

Tue 01-Oct-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Ecofest Sunderland

Sat 05-Oct-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

QWEEN UK

Sat 12-Oct-2024
Arts Centre Washington

Spooky Ships Trail

Sat 19-Oct-2024 - Sat 09-Nov-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Dashing Dahlias with Fiona McKeown

Sat 19-Oct-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Spooky Science Parties

Mon 28-Oct-2024
Sunderland Museum and Winter Gardens

Stay connected with Northern Gallery for Contemporary Art Instagram Twitter Facebook